Mid-life crisis?

Good evening all.
I recently joined this forum on a recommendation from a friend. Tons of great discussions and topics.
I wanted to put this question out to ya’ll for some insight and guidance.
I was in the Army for 10 years, flying drones. When I got out, to continue flying as a civilian contractor I was required to have my PPL, so used GI bill to get trained and continued through instrument. I then worked on my hour build to 250 for commercial, but got deployed the week before I was starting.
Fast forward 10 years and 4 deployments to afghanistan, and here I am, @ 250 hours TT and no GI bill any longer to finish.
I am looking into ATP to finish my commercial, and flow into CFI & CFII.
I just really wanted to hear if that is a possibility, or do they shy away from previously trained pilots after a ten year “manned” flying hiatus, now in my early 40’s?
This has been my passion and my wife is willing to sacrifice my income, to allow me to peruse my dreams, but I don’t want to make the commitment and sign up for large student debt bill if at my age it’s not possible.
I appreciate any insight or comments. Pretty thick skinned working for military for 20+ years total, so give it to me straight if it’s a pipe dream.

Michael,

ATP has two starting points, zero hours and credit for private. If you started with credit for private, you would go through the instrument training again, although you would not take the checkride. There would be no reduction in the course price. To be honest, going through he instrument portion again might be a good idea after having ten years off from flying.

There is no reason at all that this is a pipe dream for you, you simply need to get current and get the rest of your licenses.

Chris

Thanks Chris,