Misdemeanor DV and airlines

Hello all,

I am 27 a student pilot and will be working on finishing most of my ratings this year PPL through CFI. I had a completely spotless record other than a speeding ticket 10 years ago until just a few weeks ago. During an argument after breaking an engagement with my fiancé she was drunk and struck me in the face, i then grabbed her by the arm and left a small bruise on her arm and i was arrested for misdemeanor domestic violence in the state of california. I am extremely worried that this will end my career. I took a plea deal to avoid their jail time and left with a year of counseling no jail time and a record. In the next 2-3 years if i have a bachelors degree, (hopefully) no failed check rides, and this charge expunged which in the state of california is considered Dismissed after expunged will i have a chance? Ive talked to a regional HR and they have said they have hired guys with similar problems. Just would like to hear some insight and if you guys might know of anyone with similar circumstance prevailing in this industry.

Thanks for your help!

Also i know entrance to canada may come up here. I have researched and seen that a California expungement is honored by Canadian law.