More Speeding Ticket Questions

Whats up guys. First of all, thanks for providing so much value and inspiration to myself and others on here. It’s truly great to be able to ask sincere questions to real people in the industry. My question today is unfortunately not one I would like to be posting about, but I’m sure that asking about my situation (if anything) can help others learn from my mistake, or at least shed light on similar situations.

Heres the situation: About a year ago (turned 26 years old the month before this), I got a ticket for 99 in a 55. I was driving home on the interstate the day I finished my bachelor’s degree to visit family and celebrate my graduation/endeavor.

This was my third traffic speeding ticket in 10 years (the other two were for speeding like 10 over kinda thing when I was 18/19 years old) . I have no misdemeanors or criminal record.

However, when I was pulled over, I admitted to my mistake immediately, admitted I was going too fast, and the police officer was very understanding and a really good dude overall. He wrote me up for the following:

1. Workzone speeding (99 in 55) – workers not present.
  2. Wreck-less driving

The good news is, I never got charged with Wreck-less driving, and somehow, my ticket was cheaper than any other ticket I’ve ever paid. I paid online, done deal.

Although I had no idea it was a 55 zone, and 130 miles of this interstate were under construction (but still had 70 MPH posted as speed-limits/55 when blinking), where I was apparently was the small strip that was the exception. I saw this was true driving home a few weeks later. However, not an excuse.