My Journey!

Hello!!, some good news

Ok I finally made it to the point where I just have to decide whether I want to do the 25 or the 100+ Hr multi program and then choose a training location. I already did the admissions flight, and have the loan (for the 100+ hr program) and 1st class medical approved. I’m very exited and nervous at the same time since this is big jump for me and my family.

I need some advice to make the decision so I’m going to write what I see as the Pros and Cons of each option for me:

Note: I have a wife and 2 kids in middle school. My wife works full time. I live 20 mins from FXE (No 100+ hr multi program) and 2 hours from FMY (They do have the 100+ program). I have a bachelor and a master degree.

25 Hour multi program:

Pros:
-) I live 20 mins from FXE, so I don’t need to spend in rent
-) Can help my wife with some house activities (kids, etc) not having to find much of additional help (From other family members)
-) Don’t have to be completely away from home for 7 months.
-) Smaller loan.

Cons:
-) I can’t do the 100+ hours multi in FXE

100+ Hours Multi program:

Pros:
-) Can do the 100+ hour program

Cons:
-) I would need to spend in rent
-) Can’t help my wife with some house activities (kids, etc) having to find additional help (From other family members)
-) I would have to be completely away from home for 7 months.
-) Larger loan.

My goal in this career is to be able to go ATP → Regionals → Mayors/LCC. I have read in other posts that the 100+ programs helps you the most when you are going to Part 135, corporate , etc. But I’ve also read that this program gives you the opportunity to train in a more complex aircraft (which is always good) and it makes you checks some boxes when you apply for the first time to the airlines. Since I know I’m not early to the party (I’m 42 yo), I really wanted to pursue this program (100+) because I thought it could give me a better chance to get hired in an airline when the time comes.