New hire options for bases near southern Indiana

Hello. After six years in law Enforcement as a police officer, my wife, 5 children, and I are considering a career change. Currently we live in the seymour area in Indiana. At this location I am about 1 hour from Indianapolis and Louisville airports,1 1/2 hours from Cincinnati, and about 3 hours from Nashville. We are not in a position to be able to relocate due to Child custody/sharing situations. With that being said are there any regional airline taking new hires once training/Certs/required hours are complete in my area that would able me to base out of one of these locations? What option could I potentially later have in the majors in my area that would allow me to base here? Would consider any and all options.

Samuel,

You can reference the attached but the short answer is there aren’t many airlines with bases near you. Republic has an Indy base but whether they will and whether it’ll be a newhire base by the time you’re ready is anybody’s guess.

The good news is as a pilot you can pretty much commute to anywhere (as about 50% of pilots do). Is it inconvenient and sometimes a major pain, sure but as I said many pilots do.

Adam

So basically I probably will have to commute my entire career due to lack of a base my major airlines ect?

Doesn’t FedEx have a base in IND and quite a few other cargo operators in CVG (atlas?)?

Ben

1 Like

Samuel,

Unless things change yes pretty much you will need to commute or move.

Adam

Thank you for your help

I do think fed ex is here. How is cargo different career wise?? Benefits like free or discounters travel? I’m new to this and like I said a career move from a well paying job.

I’m not an airline/cargo pilot myself. That would be a great question for @kcbaker if he’s still around.

Ben

Samuel,