On the edge, and about to make the jump

Hey guys, my names Ben and I currently work in the oil and gas industry. Being a commercial pilot was the first thing that I wanted to be growing up, so much so that my dad would take me to the airport to watch airplanes. Then 9/11 happened, and then my young mind went a different direction. I just turned 28 and the thought of becoming a commercial pilot came back to mind in the last couple of months. I love traveling (specifically international), and I write this while sitting at the airport for my flight to France on a 777-200. I’ve traveled the U.S pretty extensively by car primarily, which is why I prefer international now. After doing quite a bit of research, it seems it would be best to get flight school knocked out first, then get my associates while building hours, get my 1500hrs, go to a regional, and then continue by getting my online bachelors while working at a regional. I’m currently looking at ATP in Southern California or U.S aviation academy in the DFW area. I will of course be visiting both schools, do a lesson, and get a FAA medical before jumping too far ahead to ensure I’m in good health to become a pilot and make sure this is the right direction for me. If all this all checks out, I’m pretty open to having a home base in SoCal, Seattle, Denver, DFW, Miami, or New York, so I won’t have to commute hopefully. Financially this is a tough decision because I currently have a pretty good paying job, but in a very cyclical industry and in the long term it’s going to be a rough road. Any advice, opinions, or help is greatly appreciated.

Benjamin,