Real Answers from Real Pilots

Outlook for someone finishing a master's degree

Hey everyone, allow me to introduce myself. My name is Luis, and I am about to finish the master’s program I am currently enrolled in. It goes without saying that I already have a bachelor’s degree. However, I studied my bachelor’s in Mexico, and Master’s in Germany. I don’t really have any relevant working experience or history in the US. However, I recently moved back to the States. I’ve been doing my homework looking up different flight schools, reading reviews, watching youtube channels, and informing myself (for a year now).

So far ATP has the most attractive offer with connections to diverse regional airlines, and because of its involvement with programs such as the United Aviate program.

My first question, does a master’s degree help in any way or have any impact?
My second question, what financing options do I have if a cosigner is out of the question, and I have limited to no credit history to speak of? I know it’s a tall order, but I am currently 31 years old and would like to be already at least employed in a regional airline before I reach 35, as I would like to be able to have at least a 30 year career as an airline pilot. The only working experience is that of the part-time jobs I did in Germany to pay for my studies.

I look forward to your answers, and I’m happy to be part of this forum :slight_smile:

Welcome Luis,

ATP students usually apply for a loan through Sallie Mae:
https://atpflightschool.com/financing/
Most students require a co-signer. Beyond that, call Kirk at ATP. He may have more info about your options.

The master’s degree is not as helpful as you may think. It’s not completely useless, but airlines care more about ratings, certs, flight experience, and few or no check ride busts.

If you haven’t already, take a look at our FAQ section:
https://airlinepilot.life/c/frequently-asked-questions/19