Part 141 vs Part 61

I’m currently doing my CFI Renewal online. In the past as an Ground Instructor I was simply able to go to the FSDO and show my student records and be done BUT the local FSDO has a “different interpretation” of the regs so here I am. I’m not here to bash the FAA but I believe the current torture I’m experiencing is a clear demonstration of the difference in the whole 61 vs 141 debate. To complete my CFI Online renewal the FAA has set a minimum time requirement for study. The course is very comprehensive and I take no issue with it. The problem is because of the min time requirement (similar to the min training requirements of Part 141) the slide I’m currently reviewing has a “15 minimum viewing time” while it only took me 2 minutes to read and take notes on. While I’d love to move forward I’m not allowed to proceed until the min time is reached. I’m currently writing this post while the timer on my other computer counts down the 15 minutes until I can click to the next slide. While I’m all for thorough and comprehensive training I fail to see the benefit of forcing someone to simply meet a time or hour requirement in order to check a box. The word inefficient comes to mind (and some others I’ll spare you from).

Anyway, that’s my little rant but I do believe it’s relevant, time to click to the next slide… someone please shoot me!

Adam

5 Likes

Who did you use to do the CFI renewal online? In addition, does it cover all CFI-MEI in one?

I use American Flyers. They charge a one time fee of $99. You can use their course every two years to renew your CFIs, the only fee is a small one for them to file your paperwork with the FAA.

sounds like a good deal.

It is, I have been using them for years.

Does one online class cover all the CFI-MEI renewals for two years?

Yes it covers your CFI certificate with all of its add-ons.

Yarden

Yep, it covers all of them. It is pretty straight forward and easy to do.