Paying cash

If you pay cash are you still eligible for the 11,000 dollar bonus?
Is it worth interviewing at 500 hours and locking in one airline or waiting for the best offer at 1500 tt?
How long does it take to get to 1500? I know most haven’t had to do it but what is the average. 1.5 years seems excessive.

Hi Chris and Welcome,

The $11k is Tuition Reimbursement not loan reimbursement and while I’m not an expert, I’ve seen nothing in any of the literature to lead me to believe you wouldn’t be. I’d have to say yes (but I’d still call ATP, 1-800-ALL-ATPS to be certain).

As for the interview that’s a great question. First thing is that’s a condition of the Tuition Reimbursement. So if you’re interested in that yea its worth it. Now some also offer a signing bonus in lieu of the Tuition Reimbursement so in that case if you don’t need the money until you get hired I guess you could wait? That said by the time you have the 500hrs you should have some idea of where you want to go and things prob won’t change much. Bottomline is it’s your call but again if you want that $11k upfront you will have to sign.

The 1.5 is actually pretty accurate. You’ll graduate from ATP with 275hrs. 1500-275=1225, 1225/18mos=68hrs a month which about the average throughout the ATP system.

Adam

Chris,

Most CFIs will fly between 80 and 1000 hours per month, so 1.5 years is about spot on. I believe that if you paid cash for the program the Tuition Assistance money is paid out to you as part of your pay check. I have contacted one of the people at ATP who is very familiar with this and will let you know as soon as I do.

Chris

So is it official that any signing bonus offered by an airline is in fact in lieu of tuition reimbursement? Last I read that other thread there was no official word back.

Chris - YES, if you pay cash for your flight training you are eligible for
$11,000 in Tuition Reimbursement. Rather than the payments going straight