Pilot glut

So I’ve read a lot about this pilot glut forming which is a large reason why the pay for regional airlines is skyrocketing. I’m currently a freshman in college and am on a three year track to graduate with a finance degree. I plan to get my private pilot’s licence next summer (so one year before I would start ATP flight school) After i graduate I plan to attend ATP and spend about a year and a half there getting my commercial licence and building up flight time.

1. Is there anything about my plan you would change. Such as is going a year between getting my private licence and starting ATP flight school too big of a gap? Will I forgot a lot of what I learned?
  2. I still have about 3 and a half years from now until I will finish my ATP flight school training. Do you still see the pilot glut as a problem in three and a half years from now or is it going to be a really short lived phenomena?

Scott,

Fortunately we do not have a pilot “glut”, in fact it’s quite the opposite, it’s a shortage and that’s a good thing (if anything there’s a pilot position glut). Now on to your questions.

1. While a year isn’t that long, it’s enough time to lose a fair amount of your skills and knowledge (these are considered perishable skills). Totally your call but I really don’t see the point in getting your PPL prior to attending ATP. If you just get your PPL and do nothing else before your start at ATP you’ll still need to get your time up to 80hrs, so whatever time you may save it won’t be much vs getting the whole thing done with ATP. Factor in the fact you’d be doing all your training with ATP, learning their procedures which will dovetail right into the balance of your training and again I fail to see a benefit?

2. All indicators are that the pilot POSITION glut (or pilot ANTI-glut?) will continue for some time and I’m fairly confident it will. There are of course no guarantees and things can change in a instant but personally I believe you’ll be fine.

Adam

Scott,