Pilots and Tattoos

Hey!
Covid 19 has quickly derailed my life and dug up older dreams and ideas. I grew up around aviation, my dad flew a Learjet 45 for a great company. I flew in several small aircrafts from small runways. I have a great time in airplanes, every time. I wanted to get my license as soon as I could growing up, but I never made it happen.

I am a professional tattoo artist. I am heavily tattooed. I have tattoos I cannot cover if the company requires it. How does my future look? My father thinks I can find a position flying freight. I want to believe that I won’t be turned away before I even have a chance, but am aware of subtle reservations many people carry about tattooed people.

Thank you for any insight, I’d love to hear back.

Trevor,

Nothing comes to mind. Your father said cargo because he thought boxes wouldn’t care? Or did he know of any specific cargo companies? Personal reservations aside every company has a tattoo policy. Best you start digging around these company’s to find out which ones are okay with tattoos that can’t be covered by the uniform. You’d really be limiting your options if you decide to keep the ones that can’t be covered. I have a feeling it’s going to come down to deciding what you love more. Just remember, you can keep the tattoos that can be covered.

Tory

1 Like

Trevor,

That’s a tough one. From what I understand neither FedEx nor UPS have written policies against tattoos. Problem is EVERY other MAJOR airline in the country does. That poses 3 problems. First you’re putting all your eggs in a very small basket of airlines you can work and neither is easy to get on with.

Second most of the newhires for both come from the Regionals all of whom also have tattoo policies so how will you build your time?