Pilots flying corporate jets

Can anyone on here give me the pros and cons of flying for corporations and private jets or charter and how does one get those jobs?

Thank you

Ray,

We are all airline pilots on here, so our judgement might be a little skewed. That being said, I find that the types of jobs that you mention generally involve longer days, less predictable schedules, less stability and less compensation that airline jobs. For some reason though, some pilots love that kind of flying and do not seem to ever wish to come to the airlines.

A lot of those jobs are obtained through connections and require a surprisingly high number of flight hours.

Chris

Ray,

When you say flying private jets, corporate or charter you’re really talking about a HUGE range of flying. When I was at Xjt we did some charter flying for a while and I have a number of friends who fly corporate so I have some knowledge on the subject. As I said it’s a huge range of flying and depending on the aircraft, the owner (company), size of the operation it can be great or terrible.