QOL change at age 54

Hi all,
This is a soul searching question. I have just over 1500 TT and am interviewing soon with a regional. I love flying and want to challenge myself at the next level.
But I admit I am very accustomed to the home life my office job gives me. I am off and at home every evening, weekend, and holiday. I will of course have to get over that and let it go to make this change. I don’t hate my current job, but I sure don’t love it. Mindless desk jockey work to keep it short.

I know this is an individual choice thing, but has anyone been through anything similar?

Thanks so much!

Andy - I do not have any similar experiences, but as someone a few years younger than you that is considering making the leap to being a pilot, I would be very interested to hear about your experience interviewing with a regional and how (if at all) your age affects the process. Best of luck with this!

Sam

Andy,

The airlines are very unique in this aspect. While there are obviously other jobs that involve travel, travel is what we do. I think it’s safe to say regardless of where new pilots are coming from flying for an airline is going to be a transition. Truth is some people love it, others don’t but at 54 you should have some idea which you are?

Adam

Hi Andy,