Qualifications to be a Flight Instructor

My greeting to mentors,
My name is Huy and I’m a sophomore BS Electrical at Boise State University. My goal is to finish my degree then get into flight school. My question is what does it take to become a flight instructor or what qualifications are they looking at flight instructor? I’m a bit hesitated when it comes to teach other English since it’s not my native language. I’m currently doing Teaching Assistant at my school and I’m planning to do this for awhile to gain my teaching skill, which I thought it would be helpful for me when I become flight instructor. What do you think of it?

Thank you for time.

Hello Huy,

First and foremost you obviously need to have the required licenses and ratings to legal perform the duties of a flight instructor. That means at a minimum you must have your CPL (Commercial Pilot License), your Instrument Rating and your CFI rating (Certified Flight Instructor). Keep in mind to posses any pilot’s license you must be English language proficient as this is a requirement around the World. I have known a few instructors who’s English is shall we say “rough”. Obviously being able to communicate with your students is critical so I applaud your efforts to improve your skills. As with most things you’ll improve with time and practice. I also find those who are most critical of their language skills are often better than they perceive.

Adam

2 Likes

Thank you for your reply. I’ve been listening to “liveATC”-great apps :slight_smile: I found them speak very fast sometimes that I could barely understand them. I could see why English proficiency is so important in for this job since miscommunication could cause disaster.

My question:

1. How proficient do I have to be? Airport is a busy place with people from all over the world, so you must have exposed with different accents and dialects.

2.How is the English at airport environment out there and at flight school like ?

Huy,