Questions before I make my decision!

Hey everyone,

So it’s getting to the point where I need to make my final decision on flight school so I can get started at the beginning of the year. I’ve taken many intro flights, toured locations, and done a lot of research. Flying is definitely for me so no doubt about that. My final thing to decide is what school? I’m leaning more towards ATP but have some questions.

1. Do I have unlimited access to sims at no additional cost? Some of the college aviation programs I have looked at said I would have to pay extra for sim time.

2. Is the fixed cost for the program the fixed cost? Meaning will I need to buy additional flight hours at any time in the program?

3. Is the program doable in 9 months? I have a Bachelors degree and know what it means to work hard and be dedicated to school. I will not be working during school so I can focus on flying. It’s just worries me a bit when I look at the college programs taking so long.

Thank you to anyone who is willing to answer these questions! This site has been wonderful and I greatly appreciate everyone’s insight! :slight_smile:

Brittany

Hey Brittany!

I can’t speak to official answers, but based on your description - we sound like we have a very similar story.

1. We were always able to have access to the sim any time is was not scheduled to be used. That extra time would be done by yourself or with another student - unless you have a super nice instructor who is willing to help for free!

2. I was able to get through the program without purchasing additional flights. If I had to guess, I don’t think its common to need much extra time. But yes, the fixed cost is the fixed cost. You will only need to buy hours if you are not able to progress at the rate the lesson plans are requiring for check ride readiness.