R-atp

Hello aviation community,

I seem to be in a unique situation regarding restricted ATP privileges. Here’s my situation:

As a background, I obtained my PPL and a B.S. in Aeronautics from ERAU, and now I am also a graduate student studying Aeronautics with a dual specialization in Human Factors and Space Studies.

After graduating, I decided to continue my flight training outside of Riddle, but I did not realize my current flight school does not have an LOA with the FAA for R-ATP privileges. I now know that would not even make a difference because all the flight and ground courses need to be completed at the same institution where the degree was obtained per FAR 61.160.

After speaking with a few people, it was brought to my attention that if I’m trying to get back into the flight program as a graduate student, I would not qualify for restricted privileges anyway because my flight would have had to be completed before the completion of my bachelor’s degree (which, correct me if I’m wrong but it doesn’t say that in the FAR’s).

I have the LOA and FAR 61.160 printed out in front of me and nowhere does it state that I need to have completed my training before the completion of my degree. It just says that I need my instrument and commercial flight and ground courses completed at the same institution where I obtained the bachelor’s degree with 30-60 credits completed in an aviation field of study.