Rate at which to complete FAA knowledge exams

Hi everyone,

My start date is scheduled for this August at the Addison, Texas location. With roughly three months between now and then, my plan is to complete the first three FAA knowledge exams beforehand, and to finish the remainder of the exams while in training. This allows me about a month to study for each of the first three exams I’d like to complete before beginning training.

My question: is it preferable to try to complete more than three of the exams before training at a faster rate? I’m scheduled to take the PAR in six days, and at the current rate at which I’m studying, I feel like I’m gaining a real, sincere understanding of the subject matter that will benefit me greatly during the program.

I’m willing to pick up the pace in terms of studying before beginning training; I’m already in love with the self-study routine, and I spend eight hours a day at work excited to go home and spend time learning material that actually interests me. Any insight is appreciated!

Thanks,

Matthew

1 Like

Matthew,

I’m not sure who said it, but there’s a famous quote that states “never put off for tomorrow what can be done today”. The fact is that none of the FAA Knowledge exams are required to be completed prior to training BUT there’s no question that doing so will significantly lighten the load. Three is great, but four is better and all six is obviously best, PROVIDED you don’t sacrifice quantity for quality and end up with low scores.

Now you say your plan is to complete the first three and by that I assume you mean the PAR, IRA, and the CAX? If that’s the case everyone will tell you that the IRA and the FII are almost identical tests and share the same bank of questions. That’s why virtually everyone who knows that takes both tests back to back because studying for one is really studying for both. So now you’re at four tests taken without even trying!