Reality Check on pilot qualifications

Good Morning Chris- I am a Licensed Commercial pilot with Multi engine and Instrument ratings and approximately 3000 hours TT, of which 2000 is Cross Country. The largest aircraft I have flown is the DC-3 with approximately 300 hours, though I am not type rated in it. I am 73 years old and have been approached by a Regional Charter Firm to be trained on a King Air C90 as SIC and be promoted to PIC after 6 months. I have a 2nd Class Med Certificate and am currently training for my Instrument Proficiency flight check.

I have not flown for the last 25 years and was trained in the Air Force under the GI Bill with Analog flight instruments. Now everything is digital in the cockpit. Am I being realistic in trying to get back into flying at my age(considering I passed my 2nd Class Medical) and if so, are there any other requirements that I need to meet to get this job? I am passionate about flying and want to return to the occupation I love. Need your feedback on this.

Hi Gabriel,

The 2nd Class and currency are all that are required so you should be fine. My biggest concern (if I were you) would be that the King Air is a heck of a lot faster than a DC-3. I know many pilots who’ve flown into their 70s and 80s, BUT they all were consistently flying throughout their lives. What concerns me more than your age is the 25yr break and then diving back into a very fast complex airframe. Far be it from me to rain on anyone’s parade. I guess I’d give it a shot. I’m thinking after a few times up you’ll know if it’s going to work or not?

Adam

Thank you Adam for your reply. I have flown the King Air, Queen Air, Baron and Bonanza aircraft before though I am not current on them. Would this help me in my quest to fly the King Air C90?

Gabriel,

I’m sure it would. Again my biggest concern would be the time away. As I said I believe after a few times up you’ll know if this is realistic.

Adam