Regional Choices

Hey guys,
I am currently a student at a part 61 school (started in May) just finishing up my instrument rating. My flight instructor thinks I will have my commercial by the end of the year and be instructing early next year. He also told me I should start looking into regionals I want to work for. It’s a little overwhelming with so many regionals but I think I have it narrowed down to SkyWest and Endeavor. I’ve also considered Envoy but have heard things aren’t great at Envoy and AA. Is it that beneficial to have a direct flow through program or should I really be more concerned about quality of life? I also realize that me going to a regional is about two years away and things could change a lot between now and then. Thanks fo your insight!

Nick,

Honestly, I think you are getting a little ahead of yourself. You need to be focusing on your flight training and becoming a CFI so you can build hours, you really can’t even commit to an airline before reaching 500 hours and of course cannot be hired until 1,500 hours. I understand it is good to look ahead, but so much can change in this industry that I would not be so worried about it right now.

That being said, I have not heard that things are not good good at Envoy, quite the opposite in fact. Wages are up, there is a flow through and the company seems to have decent movement. OF course direct flow throughs are great, but I wouldn’t make life choices off of them as things can and do change. I would pick the regional that works best for you and go from there.

Chris

Nick,