25. Off
  26. Off
  27. Off
  28. Off
  29. Off
  30. Off
6 Likes

Hello Chris,
I’ve read seniority is everything in multiple posts on here so is it safe to assume that rookie FO will most likely fly most weekends and holidays until seniority is built?

Evelyn,

That is correct. As you build seniority you will have more control over your schedule, to include having weekends and holidays off.

Chris

That’s what I figured. Could you give some insight of what your schedule is like during the holidays? I imagine it’s busier than usual.

My schedule for January is a great example of the seniority system:

R=reserve day

I am super junior (bottom 10%).

At United we are slightly busier, but not too much. As a senior first officer I have several days off around Christmas along with New Year’s Eve and New Years off. I also had several days off for Thanksgiving.

Chris

Hi Yarden. How long do pilots typically stay on reserve at SkyWest before holding a line? Does SkyWest have long call outs or does it depend? Thanks!

John

John,

Reserve time at SkyWest right now is all over the place. Since we have 12 domiciles and 2 aircraft types, the range of reserve times is very big.
I was hired in August of this year on the CRJ and I finished training last month (November). I just got a reserve line for January but I am hoping to have a line at least by March with the spring break increase in flying. If that happens, it will be a total of 3 months on reserve.
On the other hand, I have a few friends that have been here for over a year on the ERJ, and they are still on reserve and are expecting at least another 6 months before they can hold a line.

The majority of reserve lines are short call (2 hours), but there are a few long call (12 hours) lines here and there. The most important thing is that there is barely any ready reserve (sitting at the airport), which is not so fun.

Yarden