Should I do it?

Hello all,

I am 37 years old and I currently work in the hospitality industry as a resort manager.
I always wanted to be a pilot, but life brought me to a diferent path.
I finally have the time, kids are older, to pursue my dream. My question is should I do it?
I do not believe I am too old to start this career. Not sure if it matters, but I hold 2 bachelor’s in arts and one master’s in hospitality management.

I plan on getting my PPL in the next few months (local school) and after that I was looking into ATP. In order to complete the program I would have to quit my job and dedicate myself full time, from what I saw it would be between 5-7 months.

My wife is very supportive and will hold the household financially, but how long would it take for me to get on my feet and how much should I expect to earn after ATP?

3-5 years after that? How much can someone in this line of work make?

Money is not everything, but it’s definitely a necessity, from what I see a first officer makes a good living, a captain makes even more.

Thank you
Addy

Addy,

What should I eat for lunch tomorrow? I also need a new car, which should I buy? I could go on but I think you get my point. We have no idea who you are, what your finances are like, how dedicated you are, if you have any pilot skills etc etc etc.

I would never be so arrogant as to tell anyone (except maybe my kids or my FO) what they should or should not do. What I can tell you is there literally has never been a better time to get into this career. Salaries are literally 5 times what they were when I started (starting pay is $90k), there are signing bonuses that will more then cover the cost of training almost immediately (over $100k) and unless you have a lot of checkride busts or a bad criminal record, if you earn the licenses and ratings and build the required time you will get hired. In fact you’ll have airlines fighting over you. It will require some sacrifice but the rewards are great.