Start Date in July

Hello all,
I just wanted to give a heads up to all the pilot mentors out there that I was able to receive my first class medical and secured my financial loan. All I have to do is place my security deposit in order to reserve my spot. I am a teacher, and though I would love to start now (I hate the idea of being put behind 6 months), I hate the thought of leaving my students mid-year.

Thanks again to all the pilot mentors on this forum. I greatly appreciate your advice and blunt honesty. I realized I have not given you guys my background, so I thought it would be helpful to give you a quick bio–since I feel like I know so much about everyone else on this forum.

I grew up loving aviation because of my father. He was a F-8 fighter pilot, airline pilot for Northwest (where he met my mother, who was a flight attendant). He still is a flight instructor for the Navy. He teaches jet pilots in Kingsville, TX. When I was in High School, he got me connected to a local glider club. I received my private pilot glider license when I was 16. Though this rating is not applicable to Airline flying, I am so thankful for the experience I have gained and learned through glider flying. It is all stick and rudder skills, application of situation awareness, and consistent thinking about how the atmosphere is working and how to stay aloft. There is nothing more rewarding than landing after a 3.5-hour flight without any engine at all --simply through luck, thermals, slight pilot skill, and the mercy of Mother Earth.