Starting all from Scratch

I am sure a lot have asked but looking to possible change careers in becoming a Pilot I am not sure if becoming Regional Airline is better or corporate? but my concern is if i where to join ATP or are there other schools out there. I am just concern of leaving my income and going into a school and not be able to have income coming in or benefits. Has anyone delt with this issue and how did you handle this?

Hey Jason. I can relate to your post in a big way. I’ve been working a corporate gig for almost 10 years now, and I’ve decided to go for my dream job as an airline pilot. I have the same concerns as you and I’m interested to connect with people who are taking the same leap!

Yea I just dont know if to start small and just get my PPL or just go all in for ATP but I still need to pay my bills.

Man I hear you on that one. What I like about ATP or similar institutions is they’ve got a structured path. If you hook up with your local CFI it may take longer and cost more. The job market is strong, so going all in will shorten the time horizon to getting back to near what you’re making now. But to your point, them bills don’t go away. Do you live in Northern IL??

In Chicago

Hello everyone.

I am trying to do it while working full time and then some. It is not easy. For sure I would go the part 61 route though if I had to do it all over again. The other way around is a drag

Jason,

First please visit our FAQ section as we answer many common questions including the different routes.

Second you haven’t taken a lesson or decided if you even want to fly. You need not be concerned with whether you should go Corporate or Regional. TONS to do before that becomes a consideration.