Starting at 42? What route would you take to maximize your investment?

Thank you in advance for your responses…I’m 42 years old and have had a desire to become a pilot for quite some time…The demand and financial compensation seems like it would even out the school loan burden a lot quicker than in the past…What would the mentors and other pilots advise as a career track to maximize the 20 years that I would have left after completing the approximate 2 to 2 1/2 years flight hours training qualifications…is the juice worth the squeeze at my age in all honesty…Or am I just too late to the game to make it a viable career option?

Elias,

I certainly hope 42 is not too old, because I too am 42, and am on week 4 of the program. I recently passed my PAR test, TOL eval, and have my solo eval next Monday. The program is fast paced, and requires a 7 day a week commitment, so keep that in mind. Best of luck!

1 Like

Elias,

Not at all. I’m the resident old guy here. I started training with ATP and I’m currently a Capt at a Major airline. Keep in mind when I started my training (and even after I was hired at my Major) there was no pilot shortage. Now we’re in the middle of arguably the worse shortage in history and the food chain is moving faster than ever. I spent almost 10yrs as a Regional pilot but now (while there are no guarantees), pilots are moving on in 2-4. There literally has been no better time to get into this industry. Would it have been better if you were 25? Sure but you can still have a very nice 20 plus years earning some of the highest salaries pilots have ever seen.

Adam

1 Like

Elias, Not to late, Im 44 and giving it a go. If you want it, don’t hesitate, jump in with both feet and go. Word of Advice, listen to the mentors! They are here to help!

Elias,

Adam wrote a great piece about age and career expectations. Here is a link to it: Am I too old to be an Airline pilot? - #2

Chris

Elias,

Short answer is you are not too old.