Starting Flight School?

Hi there,

I am a 22 year old Eagle Scout at 6’6" with some college but no degree. I have a spotless record. I have been considering computer science as a major but don’t really feel like I am an ideal fit; I am interested in a change. The idea of getting to fly an airplane has always been exciting to me ever since I was little. But I am a little daunted on how to get started and if I’m even headed in the right direction.

A couple of years ago, I was a diligent full-time student with two part-time jobs. Unfortunately, I was abruptly kicked from the nest so finances were hard for a while and my progress at school slowed (I was even homeless for a while); I went full-time on both jobs to pull myself out of the hole. Despite the negative, I have done okay for myself - I have about 14 credits left for a liberal arts degree at my local community college. I have a cummative 3.66gpa, made the Dean’s list a couple of times, and achieved a 760 fico score. Not bad I guess… I also don’t have any substantial debt. :slight_smile:

I recently got accepted to Liberty University’s Aviation degree program. They have an ROTC program there. Since I have a year in the Army’s program at my local college, that year would transfer over. I have time to think before I need to make this move. However, I don’t know if this would be the right fit for me since I am not that religious. I also feel pressured because my Dad is an Alumni there. In addition, starting at Liberty seems very expensive to me.

I currently work full-time for Envoy as a Ramp Service Agent. I took this position because it is close to the planes I am passionate about. Plus, I love the smell of jet fumes. However, I can’t wait to leave the ground.

Any advice on how to proceed would be most appreciated.

Jackson,