Starting in the military vs. ATP or other training

Hello fellow plane lovers, my names Eli I’m from Connecticut and I want to pursue a career in aviation. Im looking for some extra guidance. Being that this is an atp site I’m sure there will be some bias, but I was conflicted on whether going the airforce route to get all my ratings or go through ATP. I know that the airforce only let’s officers fly, so I was going to go the rotc route along with a&p school. I feel pretty eager to get a jump on it though, I have been working as a machinic since I graduated high school, and even though my company did just get a contract to work on our current presidents private jet, I’m still not satisfied. I wanna be flying. Anyways I was wondering if there are any other piolts out there who have started their career in the military versus atp and have anything to say about it. Thanks - Eli

Well, my first advice is if you want to get training through the military based on the route you’re going I would advise talking to an officer recruiter or a college AFROTC recruiter depending on where you would want to go. Here’s kinda the short of it though:

Get accepted to a college with an AFROTC program
Get your college degree while also participating in ROTC based classes and training
Take the Air Force Officer Qualifying Test (AFOQT)
Compete for an actual contract and Field Training slot (between 2nd/3rd year usually)
Take the Test of Basic Aviation Skills (TBAS) then you get your PCSM score from that (and a few other things)

This and a few others factors affect your competitiveness. So lets say you manage to get into the college ROTC program, compete for a Field Training slot and go and come back successful. Then you still have to go before a Rated board to determine if you will get a Rated slot (Pilot, CSO, RPA, ABM).

Let’s say you get it, then you are looking at at least a 10 year commitment as an AF Pilot (if you don’t wash out).