Suggestions for best pathway towards pilot career

Good Evening Everyone,

I am 30 years old. I have a bachelors degree in chemistry and some graduate school time. I am currently working a retail job as a manager(yuck). I was in the Marines as a c130 Crewmaster (loadmaster and flight mechanic rolled into one). My father was a pilot in the military and TSA as well as owning his own v-tail bonanza. I have flown with him in the bonanza. I have flight experience and like it.

I am taking a course at my small municipal airport for an endorsement to get my private pilots license. I do not have any hours logged. I am scheduled to get my 1st class medical this Friday 7/15.

My questions are, from your experiences and knowledge what are the best routes to doing this. My father and I had originally looked at getting a small Cessna for me to log the hours in and get my ratings. We are now looking at the airline academy’s and schools that have fast tracks to commercial careers. 1 way you get your own plane to and the other you get a foot in the door with the big boys.

bonus question, could i look into getting a job as a loadmaster for the airlines while i complete my hours either direction? i live about an hour from DFW international.

any information is appreciated thank you!

Jackson,

Full disclosure, if you look up and to the left you’ll clearly see the ATP website. This is ATPs forum and ALL the mentors on here are successful grads who are now airline pilots. We’re not salesmen but do we receive any incentive to get you to sign to. What it does mean is we were all where you were at some point, trying to decide the best route and we decided that was ATP. In short we’re all a little biased.

Now to your questions. Many people think getting their own plane is a great way to go but you need to ask yourself a few questions: