The best way to get from zero to commercial pilot on a budget

Hi my name is Maozya and i am an 18 year old female. I am an American citizen who has recently moved to Miami to investigate the best way to do my pilot training. I went to college in England where i studied A levels in Maths Spanish and Philosophy. Money is my biggest issue so i am looking to find out the best place and the best way to become a pilot. I have been told that sometimes when on a budget it is best to take modules separately as you gather the money together but am not really keen on this idea. Therefore i want to know if there is anyway you can work after gaining a PPL? or what is the earliest stage of your training that you can get a job and build up your hours this way? I am aware that the most money is in commercial piloting but my dream is to fly private jets or smaller aircraft so as not to take away the feeling of actually flying a plane but am willing to have different stages in my career to. What would you recommend as the best place to train in Florida? What are the benefits of your school? what places offer scholarships or funding? How easy is it to get a job at an early stage in your career? is there a big market for female pilots?
Look forward to hearing from you.

1 Like

Maozya,

Lots of good questions so let’s see if we can get you some answers.

A Levels: while you may have completed your A-Levels at a “college” in the UK they’re basically the equivalent of college entrance courses in the US. While a degree is not required for employment in many aviation jobs, it is at Major airlines so at some point you’ll want to look into that or you’ll find your career advancement somewhat blocked.