Timing Is Everything

Hey guys!

Thanks for doing what you do on here! It is great seeing people be so eager to help others! I have a few things that I have been pondering, and I would love to have your input on the situation. It involves rising ATP prices/inflation, and timing in general as far as when to get started.

So, I graduated from Purdue this last August with a degree in Computer Engineering Technology. Being a Purdue student, I am lucky enough to be able to attend their major aviation job fairs (another great source for the job search). Anyway, I was working on my Sport Pilot License at the time I attended the job fair (my last year of college) and decided I would speak to many regional pilot recruiters. All had great things to say about ATP (regardless of what you sometimes see online) – that’s actually how I really heard about the program. They also said they would love to hire me due to my unique background (non-aviation background/degree) had I also had my hours and licenses.

That was when it sort of clicked for me – I had a good degree to “fall back on” if I absolutely had to, was able to pay off a lot of the student loans I took out (have $15K left), and am able to finance my Private now with my job I got out of school.

Here is where the tricky part begins. Ever since I started working after college (with the intent of saving $ and obtaining my private first) the ATP prices have increased. I don’t mind, as training materials are now included as well as 10 more hours of multi. However, there is also inflation to take into account, along with potential rise in interest rates as time goes on (they increased 1.5% while I was in college).