Too many hours for ATP? What direction next?

Hello everyone.
Intro: I am 38years old, I have 1100+ Single engine hours, 600+ cross country, 75 instrument, 100 + night and am a CFII (though none of the time is from instructing) and advanced ground instructor). I do have an Associates of Applied Science degree in Aviation Maintenance Technokogy and I originally went into maintenance because it paid the most right away ( back in 2010 when first officer pay was "minimum wage to 28k a year). So I have been working as an A&P IA for 12 years and have worked in most areas of the maintenance world, I.e. helicopters old and new, jets, warbids, GA and currently am assembly lead at an aircraft manufacturing company in Bentonville AR. I have had a Cessna 172 for 14 years and the majority of my time has been in that aircraft. I have never had the need for a multi because I don’t instruct and I wasn’t planning on buying a multi.
So now that I feel I have plateaued on maintenance and pilot jobs are paying well I’m thinking of pursuing piloting instead. Here is where my ignorance starts to show. I called ATP asking about just a multi rating and an atp course and they said they only have two entry points “before your private pilot license and right after”. He said I had too many hours for their program. So I’ve been looking around for multi schools and a way to build 25-50hr a multi time but at $300 and hour for a multi that’s a lot of money to come up with out of pocket (at least with ATP I could get student loans).