Transition from research to aviation

Dear community,

I’m directing a set of questions to you which have been on my mind for a while. I’m a 26-year old PhD student from Germany who has loved aviation for a really long time. My mom was born in the US but because I only applied for my family-based green card at age 22, I have to wait until next year to be granted a green card. Over the last couple of years, I realized my desire to not only travel, but also to become a pilot. My question is whether you think I am too old/comparatively disadvantaged if I decided to pursue my dream of becoming a pilot? I know that for United one requires a bachelor’s degree, so I guess my previous bachelor and master degree weren’t “a waste”. I’m also trying to factor in airline demand these days (Despite corona virus, United released a press statement that they aim to hire 10,000 pilots until 2020). I have about 2 years left to finish the PhD, so would you recommend finishing the dissertation, or postpone this to be done some time later (or possibly never)? This strikes as a particularly difficult question given the huge steps in the first years (from PPL to CPL to working as CFI etc.) I would be happy to hear how experienced pilots think about this.

Thank you everyone for sharing their opinion.

Best,

Christian

Christian,

Welcome to the forums. As for your age question, please see the FAQ section as there is a detailed response there that deals with this very question.

As for working for the airlines, a PhD will be of zero value when applying for jobs, the majors simply want to see a bachelor’s degree and you have checked that box. Whether or not you finish the PhD is up to you, but if your plans are to train at ATP, you will need to have a green card to begin your training.

Have you taken an introductory flight yet? It is one thing to enjoy riding in the back of an airplane and quite another to actually fly it. I would highly suggest this as a first step.

Chris

Christian,