TSA background

Do i have to go through this whole process even though I’m a permanent resident of the US. IM NOT A CITIZEN YET BUT A PERMANENT RESIDENT

Luis,

Short answer, Yes. From the TSA Website:

DHS-TSA-PIA-026 Alien Flight Student Program
**July 28, 2014. The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) conducts Security Threat Assessments (STA) on individuals who are not U.S. citizens or nationals. **

Unless you are or become a citizen you must have a background check.

Adam

Luis,

I am a permanent resident as well and I just went through the whole process ( TSA background and fingerprints) a few weeks ago.

If you have any questions about it I’ll be glad to help you.

Joe Fraga

Hi Juesley,

I’m from Brazil and a permanent resident. I applied for the TSA background check yesterday.

How long did take for you and did you have any problems to get your process approved?

Thanks and regards

Wendell

Hey Wendel,

Cool! I’m a brazilian too.
It was actually really fast… it took me About two weeks to complete the whole process.

The only “trouble” that I had was when I submitted my fingerprints.
I had to go all the way to Milwaukee- WI because there’s no authorized person from NATA to collect fingerprints where I live (Minneapolis MN). But I didn’t mind the road trip.

You can find locations on this website https://secure.natacs.aero/afsp/find_location.asp

The one thing that I recommend is to make sure that you find a place to submit your fingerprints electronically… that’ll speed things up.

And also, even though you have more than one request ( private, instrument, commercial) you only need to submit/pay to NATA once. If I’m not wrong it’s about $90.

Let me know if you have any other questions,
Btw what ATP location are you going to attend?

2 Likes

Hi, Juesley,

Thanks for your answer, I was sure you were Brazilian when I saw your name. :slight_smile: