Update from the NW

Just wanted to chime in and give a quick update in between some studying.

A quick background. I have spent the last 12 years in Pharmacy, before that I was an electrician, and an Air Force Munitions Journeyman after high school. I was hesitant about starting a new career at 44, but after listening to the mentors and others on this website, I realized it is possible. I did my research, asked questions, read experiences, then made the decision to become an professional pilot.

I obtained my loan and have a class date of 4/18/2022 at the Glendale Airport in Arizona. I live in Seattle, but the weather will prolong my training and I wanted a location where I could focus on training without distraction. This will be like an 8 month deployment for me (for those of you veterans)

I started studying for the Private Pilot Knowledge Exam using the Gleim Handbook and the Sporty’s Course. (Passed in Jan.) I took the advice of the mentors and used Sheppard Air to study for the Instrument Rating Exam (IRA) and took it with the Flight Instructor Instrument (FII). Happy to say, passed both this weekend. I have received my box of books and polo’s from ATP along with access to the King’s Coursework. I will be using Sheppard Air to study for the Commercial Knowledge Exam (CAX) but putting priority on the coursework from ATP.

A few words of advice to anyone thinking about becoming an airline pilot. First, listen to the mentors on this site. There is plenty of information on every type of circumstance available. Second, ask questions. There are pilots on this website from every aspect, those starting training to Captains, and everywhere in between. If they don’t know an answer, they will find it quickly.

To the mentors on this site, Chris, Tory, Adam, and Hannah, a huge thank you! I want to add Brady Fries as well!

Now back to studying

2 Likes

Angel,