What should I do or could do while still in college before attending ATP?

Hello Everyone,

I am currently 21 and pursuing a BBA degree in New York City, even though what I am studying right now is something totally unrelated to being a pilot or aviation, I have always admired pilots, because it is really an aspiring career for me and something that people around me never thought of or tried to pursue. I decided upon graduating, I will give myself a try to enter the pilot road, of course, if I successfully obtain the a loan and other means necessary. So my general question toady will be, while still in college, is there anything I can do to prepare for what is coming ahead, for example, buying a book to study ahead, finding sources to know more about the field, or even something I can do to get a head start. Any suggestions are appreciated, also, I am expected to graduate after the Fall 2017 or Spring 2018 college semester.

Thank You
Charles

Hello Charles and Welcome,

You don’t mention whether you have any flight experience or not so my first question is have you ever been up in a small plane? If the answer is no then my first suggestion is to go flying. While aviation is an excellent and exciting career the fact is it isn’t for everyone and not everyone has an aptitude for it. ATP offers an excellent Intro flight program if there’s a location close by, if not I’m sure you can find a local flight school and take a flight there. Either ay it’s something you need to do.

Other than that you could definitely bang out some of the required FAA written exams but I’d wait till you get closer to signing up as the exams do expire if the flight portion isn’t taken within 2 yrs.

Hope that helps some,

Adam

Charles,