What to do in mean time

Just joined today. Already read some great advice and gave me a more clear and realistic expectation of becoming a pilot. Thank y’all for that.

I read one pilots outline that said to do a degree first (which with the 60 hours required for ATP, I’m assuming just to at least get Associates) and then look to get into ATP. What can I do in the mean time to get prepared for ATP and just being a pilot in general while I’m going for my degree? Is there courses or tests or just anything that will help me down the road that I can start knocking out in the next couple of years?

Some incite on my goals, I just ETSed from the Army three days ago. I have zero experience with anythint related to aviation. My goal as of now is to work for UPS as a pilot. Just to see if y’all have anymore info for me.

Thanks again for answering other questions. It’s definitely helped me a lot. Looking forward to more info and hopefully joining the pilot family in the future. God bless

Jordan,

The first thing you should do is take an introductory flight. It is one thing to think you like flying from the back of a 737, it is quite another to actually fly a small airplane. You can take an intro flight at ATP or just about any flight school.

There really is not much you can do to work on flying until you start training, other than maybe taking your written exams. Get Ahead By Taking FAA Knowledge Tests Before Starting ATP / ATP Flight School

By the way, assuming you had an honorable discharge, you should be eligible to attend ATP without any college. I would recommend doing this, then working on your degree while you are a regional pilot. There are many schools out there that will give you credit for your flight training and some for your military experience. College Credit for Airline Career Pilot Students / ATP Flight School

Take a look at those links and let us know what other questions you may have.

Chris

2 Likes

Jordan,