What to expect for a discovery flight

I am about to fly in 4 days. I’m so excited I can’t sleep, I’m studying aviation in all my free time, and watching tons of videos of discovery flights. online it says its normal for the instructor to do t/o and landing, but I’ve seen many videos where the instructor let’s the new /prospective student do the t/o, taxi, and/or landing. is this normal? I’d absolutely love to be able to fly the t/o and landing.
I’m sure every instructor/school is different. just wondering if anybody knows how common that is.
also has anybody been allowed to use the radio on their discovery flight? I’ve been practicing radio communications with a friend who flies an a320 and really want to try to speak with atc.
thanks in advance and happy flying

Emil,

I am glad that you are excited for your intro flight. Don’t be disappointed if you don’t get to do the takeoff and landing. Walking someone through the takeoff and landing on their first flight is extremely difficult. Takeoff and landing instruction is typically reserved for formal flight lessons, not intro flights for economic and safety reasons. Allowing someone to fly those portions of the flight is not the norm, regardless of what you may have read. If you don’t get to do it, that’s okay. Has nothing to do with you and certainly shouldn’t take away from the entire experience. If anything it typically leaves people wanting more.

If you end up enrolling as a student you will have plenty of practice with takeoffs and landings.

As for the radios, it depends on the situation, but you should get an opportunity to at least attempt to make some calls.

Tory

2 Likes

Emil,

Don’t take this wrong but reading your post sounds like you’re setting yourself up for failure.