What's the chances?

Hello all and thank you for your time. I’m thinking of a career in being paid to fly. I’m not wanting the captain of majors position, just captain with a good amount of seniority at a regional airline should be a great career end.
I’m 36 yrs old, wife, 2 kids, the good life. I’m at $70k year and wife works also. I’m a senior hvac service technician at major corporate hvac manufacturer. I don’t dislike what I do but I’ve always wanted to fly since I worked ramp at 18yrs old for a year and half making nothing but loved what I did. Left to work my hvac apprenticeship and the schooling.
When I was a first year apprentice I and my girlfriend lived with a roommate. We had a fight and I got extremely upset and the police were called out. The guy I was renting the room from was growing a pot plant. I won’t say he didn’t tell me or I didn’t smoke with him when we first moved in. Long story short they found his plant in the basement and he played the isn’t mine card and they charged us both with felony marijuana charge. Mine got dismissed and refiled into a misdemeanor marijuana charge which I took because I knew what was going on. That was 17 yrs ago and I haven’t had even a brush with the police or speeding ticket.
Question is do I stand a chance at spending the 70k I have from the sell of our house to get a associate’s in aviation with a community college that will take me to 500 hrs, multi. and CFII OR is the drug charge and and conviction going to make it so I have no chance and I need to stay where i’m at? Where could I go to find out if I’d pass the background checks and FAA medical? I really don’t want to lose an investment because I didn’t do the research.
Thanks,
Ross

Ross,