Where To Begin

Hello, everyone.

This is my first time here and first time posting.

I’ve read a few posts where others have had somewhat similar questions - but I figured I’d rather ask and be sure than guess and be wrong.

I currently live in Midland, TX with my wife. We bought a house nearly a year ago now, and due to the circumstances of the contract - we can’t move or change our primary/residential address from our current home for at least another 3 years.

That said, the closest ATP Flight School is 5 hours away on a good day in San Antonio.

I was hoping some of you might have ideas on how to plan this all out, or have any advice on solutions.

Thank you for your time,

Devyn Mercer

Devyn,

You won’t be able to swing a 10hr commute more than once per week IMO given the time required to be available for flight and time needed to study.
You have a few options.

• Look for a reputable flight school closer to you.
  • Live in an apartment for 6-9 months of training and occasionally visit home during training (more expensive due to mortgage + apartment payments).
  • Rent your house out and both move to an apartment near ATP for 6 months or as long as you’d like (Off sets costs, but not sure if the “contract” you mentioned would allow this. was it some form of FHA loan).
  • Sell the house and move closer (I assume this is an option you do not want to do but put it out there. Something to consider since you don’t live near an airline base, so currently you’d commute to an airline for your career unless you find a corporate job near Midland).

I don’t know how strict your contract is or how well it is enforceable, but none of the options above require you to move your primary residence right away.

Best of luck,
Chris F

1 Like

Devyn,