Work for foreign pilot in US

Hi, I am a FAA Comercial pilot and a CFII, but I am Costa Rican. I would like to know if there is a way to work in the USA as a pilot with my ratings?

Thanks

Sergio,

To work as a pilot in the US you must either be a citizen OR have permanent resident status. If you do then after a background check you could work in the US. You don’t mention how many hours you have but if it’s >1500 you could go straight to a Regional if not you could probably find an instructor job somewhere to build the time.

Adam

Right now I have 620 hours. I did about 80% percent of my training in the US. Well that is too bad because I am neither one of those. So without those I guess it is impossible to work as a pilot in the US. Guess I will have to keep looking here. Thanks for the quick answer Adam.

Hello, i am a first officer working for turkish airlines with total 3000 hours in boeing 737. I had my training in Usa so i have faa commercial license with instrument rating but i dont have atp, i have atpl though. Obviously i live in turkey but want to live and work in Usa in an international airline company. Actually my wife is american and she is bored to live in turkey and wanna go back. So i dont have any difficulty to get a green card. I already applied for that. And i also now i need to get faa atp. But my questions are; 1) is the big airlines like delta, american, southwest etc, would hire me for the same type of aircraft or do they still require flight instructor bacground (cfi) or regional airlines flight time? Are those for only building the time?
2) i read sth about some airlines require 1000 hours pic. What is meant by pic? Because i actually have 100 hours pic which i gained during my flight training in florida. Since turkish airlines have only 250 hours requirement they hired me. And my flights are not consider pic cause i m a first officer.
Appreciated if i can get answer for that. Thank you very much in advance.

Koray,