Your Private Pilot Checkride Experience

Hey mentors! So taking a stroll through memory lane, what do you remember about your Private Pilot checkride? How was your examiner, where you nervous?, where there things you didn’t know at the time when asked? Would like to know how were your individual experiences through this stage of your careers. Me? I’m currently studying for the oral, trying to grasp every concept I can. Great day!

Like they’ve said before, it’s really just a conversation between pilots if you know your stuff. My examiner was a former Air Force pilot and had amazing stories to tell, making the mood light from the start. It was actually fun to do the oral and a learning experience in a way when he would elaborate on topics after I answered with some personal experience. Remember like someone said before, don’t try to impress with long answers, keep it short and to the point; ANSWER THE QUESTION! Haha.

The one thing I remember having trouble with in the oral was the aircraft logs and finding things in it. I never did any ground school at all and had never even seen the books before! I’m sure you are much more prepared in that aspect than me though!

For the flight part, just fly the plane and do what you know how to do. You would be at the checkride if you weren’t ready, so just relax, have fun, and do what you know how to do. Remember checklists, proper procedures, and try to talk your way through your flying verbally so the examiner knows what’s going on in your mind. Finally, know that if you fail something he will tell you and your day will be done. I know I, and a lot of others, have been taxiing into the FBO wondering if we had passed or failed!

Good luck buddy! Do good and have fun!

1 Like

Thank you!! I just remembered I had already asked a similar question to this!!! Oops, I appreciate the answer! Pumped!