Horizon Air Pilot Development Program with a Busted Checkride

Good afternoon y’all,

I’m starting with ATP November 28th, and I can’t wait to get started! Flying has been a dream of mine since I was little, as I’m sure it was for most, if not all, of you.

That being said - when the time comes, I’m looking at applying to Horizon’s Air Pilot Development Program, and I’m a bit nervous about my odds. Back in 2019, I was working towards my private, and I busted the checkride. It was entirely my fault - I was brash and overconfident, and thought I could get through on my stick and rudder skills alone. Predictably, I busted the oral portion.

Any advice on how to approach this during a potential interview would be appreciated. I know Horizon starts hiring after you get your private, and I worry that at that point, with very little flight experience, this will stick out like a sore thumb.

Chase,

I have no direct experience with the Horizon program, but just some general advice would be that it might be best to wait until you have a second or third successful checkride under your belt before applying to the program. Do not worry about ruching this, when you get accepted into their development program will have very little affect on when you actually start working at the airline. When you get 1,500 hours will be what determines that.

Chris

Chase,

I would contact Horizon and ask them their thoughts to get a better sense of whether you should postpone your application or not.

Tory

Chris and Tory,

Thanks for the advice! I can definitely see the benefit of postponing a bit to make myself more competitive. I’ll reach out to Horizon to get their thoughts, and I’ll be sure to check back in later down the road!

Whatever happens, I sincerely appreciate the thoughtful responses. Navigating this can be tough without some guidance, so I very much appreciate what this forum does!

Chase,