27yrs old - looking for realistic career path timeline

Hello,

I am a 27 year old CPA making a decent amount of money (a little over $100k/yr), but accounting really isn’t doing it for me. Most days I dread going into work and I have always been interested in being a pilot and have flown in the cockpit of a number of different small planes when I was younger.

My question is what is a realistic timeline for me to get back to making roughly the same money I am making right now (assuming I were to drop everything and go to flight school full-time)? I understand the accelerated program takes 9 months and after that I would need to reach the 1500 hour mark before gaining employment. So from 0 to finish, how long do you think it would take to start making some decent coin?

Money isn’t everything to me but I do have aspirations of early retirement. My pathway to reaching that goal has been through buying rental real estate and I don’t think I would have the money to continue to buy more until I was making roughly $100k again.

Thanks for the help/advice.

1 Like

Pre-Covid, I’d estimate 3 years (conservative - could easily be shorter) 0-1500. Then another 2 years as a regional FO. Then realistically a few years as CA before hitting that 6 figure mark. All in all, about 6-8 years.

Given the current situation, getting to an airline period will be a feat. Upgrades have stagnated. There’s just no way to predict how we will come out of it. Could come back quickly and still be 6-8… could be >10.

1 Like

Christian,