40 years old career transition

I am currently 40 years old, i am currently a automotive technician with 20 years experience with no desire to continue as a flat rate mechanic or move into management( customers relations) and not interested in menial hourly pay of a foreman. I am fully consumed with aviation, I know 99% of the science and would only need to learn current ground school and current navigation techniques, am I too old? am I expecting too much? what are my chances of being a successful pilot at this age, I know i can do it but would it be worth it? p.s. considering attending ATP school in Jacksonville Fl
, any advise would be much appreciated, Thank you , Tom.

Thomas,

Have you ever taken a discovery flight in a small trainer aircraft? It’s very different than riding in the back of an airbus. There isn’t much “science” to know. Flying takes a unique skill set that you either can learn and adapt or can’t. The only way you’ll know is to get flying a bit and see.

You’re definitely not too old to start but the hiring wave is starting to slow so time is of the essence. If you do well in discovery flights you can start exploring the steps to apply for the program.

Hannah

Hannah,