A Good Fit For ATP?

Good Afternoon! First, thank you all for always answering everyone’s questions and taking time out of your busy schedules!

To jump right in - I am curious if I would sound like a good fit for ATP.

My background includes being a PPL holder as of August from a smaller, part 141 school. I have a first class medical. I have an associates degree with a 3.8 GPA, and am currently serving in the U.S. Air Force National Guard as a Military Police Officer.

As I begin to study for the instrument written and simultaneously contemplate ATP, I begin realizing the difficulty of moving into instrument. I understand ATP is a quick-pace environment, but is it too quick for someone who might not pick things up as fast? I am not concerned with the workload, but my ability to obtain and process the knowledge quickly enough in such a rigorous environment. In other words, what would make someone a good ATP candidate in your eyes?

Dakota,

Thank you for the introduction and welcome to the forum. As well as thank you for your service in the military.

The only real true answer whether ATP is a good fit for you or not, is to schedule an Admissions Flight and get a firsthand experience at the training center, in the aircraft, and meet current students/instructors, with the ability to ask questions, learn about their success stories etc.

I will say this, ATP is difficult for those that cannot adapt quickly or pick up on things fast. There is a time and place when that may be the case, but instrument is a FAST phase, it is completed generally in less than two months, some complete it in a month. There are ways to alleviate workload, like completing your writtens early, being in the training center on days you’re not scheduled for a flight event working ahead of your ground school studies, etc. Think of a P141 school that is 4-years accelerated into 7 months (Zero Time).

Brady

1 Like

Dakota,