Am I needed?

Hello all! First off thank you for letting me have a place to ask this question! It means a lot!

I am a commercial pilot who hasn’t flown in 2 years, I am 21 and have low hrs, once Covid hit things went a bit sideways for me. Nothing seemed to pan out so I decided to give it a rest and maybe come back to it one day, so here I am about 2 years later, having flown only on 2 joy rides (with a current and proficient PIC) since my last actual training. I keep hearing shortages, is that true to the extent that I would now be considered to have something of value in my previous training? I’d love to think there is a future in aviation somewhere down the road for me. Honestly, I don’t think commercial drone work is quite as rewarding as I thought it would be lol. Thanks for reading and for any responses!

Matthew,

I am not sure what you mean by “low hours”, but 1,500 is the minimum needed to fly for the airlines, that has not changed. Without that amount flight time, you will need to find a way to build flight time. The most common paths via flight instructing. There are of course flight instructor positions available, but you will need to get current and go apply for them.

Chris

I am asking if it is worth the time and money to even attempt to re-enter the aviation industry, to spell it out I have 250 hours but that is somewhat irrelevant to my question.

Matthew,

Your time is not “irrelevant” to your question at all as it directly relates to the amount of work and effort you’ll need to put in which directly relates to your question “is it worth it?”.

You keep hearing shortages because it’s true. The Regionals have just this past week announced salaries that rival the Majors. They’re not offering that money because they’re being nice. They’re desperate for bodies. There literally has been no better time than right now to get into this industry.