Buy or Rent?

HI Everybody!

I am new to the scene and from what I have read so far you all seem to be an untapped wealth of info so here goes. I have wanted to fly for years, was working retail constantly dreaming of my long past intro flight yet unable to make the plunge from my safe and comfortable employment. I started making plans to hit the refresh button then COVID hit it for me. Fast forward a few months, I am currently working with a CFI for my private pilot license and I love it! Why did I wait so long… I know this is the career I would like to remain in. Onto my dilemna - I want to buy a plane.

Comparing costs between renting vs owning while getting my initial endorsements seems like owning would be the better option. I know I could potentially sign up with ATP and take advantage of their program to reduce/repay tuition expenses but I am hesitant because of COVID and no guarantee of employment/tuition assistance. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to make money while getting flight hours if I were to own a plane (172rg is the one I am looking at) or any other ways to get hours other than being a CFI? Also, what do you suggest about renting vs. buying in the long run?

Thanks a 1,000,000!!

Buying a plane to build hours, then resell it afterwards could sound cheap, but maintaining it is the hard part. Much better off to rent. If something goes wrong in your plane, you’re screwed, wallet wise. Add to that insurance, fuel, wear and tear, hangars, inspections, etc.

Better to have the peice of mind of renting. Especially if you’re building hours, much better off to split hours. Many places have a Cessna 152 for 90-95/hr WET. If you have a safety pilot, you’ll only be paying 45/hr. Join fb groups for time sharing opportunities. It’s like ATP crew phase, just fly around the US for 45/hr. Very exciting.

Now to the other part of your question, no one will hire you at the 250 hours you’ll have when you get your CPL. Unless you have connections.