Career change at 31

I’ve been researching my options a lot lately, and I’m seriously considering making a major career change to become an airline pilot. I’ve always loved being in the air, and have been lucky to get to fly a couple small planes with a friend. That has really given me the itch to fly. Iam confident in my ability to make it through training and eventually work my way to a major airline. I have a solid career, as I work in finance for a major bank, and even have my masters degree.

However, I hate working at a computer all day and riding a desk. Rather than be miserable the rest of my life, I want to start over and pursue a career that actually excites me. Am I crazy for considering this at 31? I would likely do the flex track for a few months, and then take the option of switching over to the fast track. Would my age make it difficult to land interviews with major airlines? I understand that making it to a regional is very likely, but the next step is difficult even for a younger pilot. Also, how difficult is it to land flight instructor positions after training? I’m in the Twin Cities, so there are many options in the area. Is it common to have to move to find an instructing position?

Thanks in advance for everyone’s time! I look forward to seeing what you think.

Cory,

Welcome to the forums, the questions you have are not obsolete at all and are frequently asked on a daily basis. I was like you working at a computer all day in a bank and always saw these planes turning base to final right by our big glass windows, I couldn’t stand being inside all day…jealous. First off, 31 is not that old, in fact I see students that are much older than that in my training center, they all have the same drive as you, to change the pace of their career and want to start something new and lifelong.