Clear Cut Answer Needed

Good Day!

I am considering ATP Tampa. I have zero flight experience and would sign up for the 9 month accelerated program. My concern is the training schedule and how it works. I have two kids and a wife and we all live in the same house. My wife works full time but has some flexibility. Would I be able to drop my kids of to school then head in for the day? Do the training schedules have any consistency to where I would be able to drop my kids off each day and then have my wife pick them up.

Thanks for the insight!

2 Likes

I can’t imagine this being an issue assuming you are dropping your kids off around 7AM or so. This is something you’d work out with your CFI once assigned.

David,

No. The schedule is not consistent. The schedule is typically created one day at a time and your lesson times may change based on CFI:Student workload, weather, aircraft availability, sim availability etc.

Plus, not all of the training is done at the same training center. For example, after your instrument check ride you’ll be assigned a crew cross-country partner. The two of you then operate like a crew and build time towards commercial flight experience requirements. This lasts for about 2 weeks and you may be away from base for that time if ATP needs airplanes moved around and you happen to time out at a training center other than Tampa, for example.

Then there’s CFI school which is conducted at one of ATP’s CFI School locations, which might end up being Daytona Beach for you, which is another 2-3 weeks.