How to

Hello,

I’m Dale. I’ll be 40 in 2 weeks. I’m currently a middle school teacher for the past 15 years. I want to eventually become a pilot for a major airline. This was my wife’s idea and I’d love to be a pilot. I have a bachelor’s degree and Master’s degree. What is the first training/class I need to take. I’ve been researching for days. The school year is about to start and I can’t quit right now. Could I start to earn my private pilot license while working? I’m in Chicago and seems there are a few flight schools. Full disclosure I want the quickest cheapest way possible to be able to be working for an airline (as would anyone). Thank you for all the responses I’ve read through. This seems like a fantastic and helpful community.

Also I’ve seen online school for flight training, ground, etc. My first thought was that seemed weird. Any thoughts?
Dale

Dale,

Full disclosure here, quickest and cheapest are conflicting terms when it comes to flight training, further the fact this “is your wife’s idea” is concerning. Flight training is challenging in many levels and most people who are fully invested simply waste money and never reach their goals.

As for your questions you definitely could train locally and possibly earn your PPL. Know it will be neither cheap nor quick. There’s a reason the airlines and the military train full-time. Flying skills are built one upon the next and training only a couple of days a week will inevitably lead to back slips and repeating lessons. Many people who try end up wasting alot of time and money. While full-time training may seem more costly, it’s actually incredibly efficient and therefore is more economical (though no one would ever call it cheap).

There are many online ground school classes out there that can prepare you for the required FAA knowledge exams. Obviously you cannot learn to fly online but they will allow you to check a box.

Adam

1 Like