Late Career Change Advice

Dear all,

I would really appreciate any guidance such an experienced group may provide!.
I think mine is somehow a tricky case.
Always passionated about flying, early at 18 years old I made some attempts that literally didn’t fly due to country and family context.

I end up pursuing a mechanical engineering career, and almost every weekend enjoying some free flight as my hobby (paragliding).

Today I am 52, and I have almost 30 years of experience. I have worked across different countries and continents, leading large engineering organizations.

And I am seriously exploring the possibility to change my career direction, becaming an ATP.

I really need to find the right school to support me, were I can do it quickly and with utmost quality, as I cannot afford the typical pilot career progression timeline.

From a personal, family and financial standpoint I am prepared to do it, and really looking forward to find that school that can join me in this dream, helping me to get as well equipped as possible, in order to face the process to find a job at such age!

But my main concern is about how realistic is to actually get a FO job later on at 54, aiming to have at least 5-10 years of a dreamt career.

I am fully aware main airlines may not be interested in having me, but this will be my only family income. My expectation will be to reach a mid size or regional airline, were I could enjoy at least 5 years of career…

So , is it too late for such a change…??

1 Like

Cristian,

If you spend ANY time browsing this forum you’ll see there’s nothing unusual or “tricky” about your case. In fact the “am I too old?” is our number one FAQ. In your case as long as you’re realistic about your career goals (which you seem to be) the answer is no.